You are here:  News



On September 9, 2012, during the Mass of Thanksgiving at which St. Stanislaus Kostka Church was elevated to a Minor Basilica, the Most Rev. John M. Quinn, Bishop of Winona, announced that His Holiness, Pope Benedict XVI has conferred Papal Honors upon eight priests of the Diocese of Winona:
Reverend Monsignor Richard M. Colletti
Vicar General; Chancellor; Rector of Sacred Heart Cathedral, Winona; Pastor, St. Casimir, Winona
Reverend Monsignor Thomas J. Hargesheimer
Dean of Winona Deanery; College of Consultors; Rector of St. Stanislaus Kostka Minor Basilica, Winona; Pastor, St. John Nepomucene, Winona
Reverend Monsignor James A. McCauley
                Emeritus Vicar for Senior Priests, Senior Priest
Reverend Monsignor Robert G. Meyer
                College of Consultors, Senior Priest
Reverend Monsignor Thomas E. Cook
Moderator of the Curia, Director of Permanent Deaconate, Pastor of St. Agnes, Kellogg and St. Felix in Wabasha
Reverend Monsignor R. Paul Heiting
Judicial Vicar; Vice Rector Immaculate Heart of Mary Seminary, Winona; Chaplain for Federal Medical Center, in Rochester, Minnesota
Reverend Monsignor Thomas P. Melvin
Rector, Immaculate Heart of Mary Seminary, Winona and Vicar for Clergy
Reverend Monsignor Gerald C. Kosse
                Pastor of St. Leo, Pipestone; St. Joseph, Jasper; and St. Martin, Woodstock
Bishop Quinn, in making the announcement said, “When our Holy Father, Pope Benedict XVI, conferred papal honors on eight of our priests, he is recognizing the faithfulness, dedication and generosity of all of our priests.”
At a date later in the fall, Vespers of Thanksgiving, with a small reception, will be scheduled to honor the newly appointed Monsignors of the Diocese of Winona.
Bookmark and Share

Contact Us

Diocese of Winona
55 W. Sanborn
PO Box 588
Winona MN 55987

Contact: Joel Hennessy

Phone:(507) 454-4643
Fax:(507) 454-8106